NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Wednesday, November 14, 2007 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order
	Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the August 21, 2007, meeting

VALUATIONS OF RETIREMENT, INSURANCE, AND RETIREE HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAMS

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Chris Conradi, Enrolled Actuary and Senior Consultant, Gabriel, Roeder, Smith and Company, Dallas, Texas, of the July 1, 2007, actuarial valuation of the Teachers' Fund for Retirement

10:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Janet Welk, Executive Director, Education Standards and Practices Board, concerning determination of the critical shortage areas exception for defining retirees returning to work under the Teachers' Fund for Retirement

10:15 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Michael Moehle, FSA MAAA, Vice President and Consulting Actuary, The Segal Company, San Francisco, California, of the July 1, 2007, actuarial valuations of the Public Employees Retirement System main system, judges' retirement fund, National Guard retirement fund, Highway Patrolmen's retirement fund, and the retiree health benefits fund

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS STUDY

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Ken Purdy, Manager, Classification and Compensation, Human Resource Management Services, Office of Management and Budget, concerning results of a survey of central states relating to the study of employee benefits provided by public employers which are not specifically authorized by law or if authorized by law are not consistent among agencies

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Purdy of a report on implementation, progress, and bonuses provided by state agency programs to provide bonuses to recruit and retain employees in hard-to-fill positions

1:45 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

2:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Bette Grande (Chairman), Eliot Glassheim, Jim Kasper, Matthew M. Klein, Joe Kroeber

Senators Ralph L. Kilzer, Karen K. Krebsbach, Curtis Olafson, Harvey D. Tallackson