NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

COMMISSION ON ALTERNATIVES TO INCARCERATION

Tuesday and Wednesday, November 20-21, 2007 Room 148/154 Research 1 Building North Dakota State University Technology Park Fargo, North Dakota

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

- 1:00 p.m. Call to order Roll call
- 1:05 p.m. Review of the North Dakota Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
- 1:10 p.m. Comments by the committee chairman
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum relating to the Commission on Alternatives to Incarceration
- 1:25 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding reorganization of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, duties and responsibilities of the department, and other matters relating to the department
- 2:30 p.m. Break
- 2:45 p.m. Presentation by Ms. JoAnne Hoesel, Department of Human Services, regarding the MATRIX treatment model, the Robinson Recovery Center, and other alternatives to incarceration programs
- 3:45 p.m. Commission discussion
- 4:00 p.m. Recess

NOTE: Commission members are invited to participate in a tour of the Robinson Recovery Center and ShareHouse immediately after the commission recesses.

Wednesday, November 21, 2007

- 8:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Nancy McKenzie, Department of Human Services, regarding drug courts and areas of collaboration between the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
- 8:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Rod Hair, Rural Criminal Justice Center, regarding programs and activities of the Rural Criminal Justice Center
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Paul Kolstoe, Department of Human Services, relating to the Individual Justice Planning Project
- 10:15 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Cass County Jail Intervention Project
- 10:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons, commission discussion, and staff directives
- 12:00 noon Adjourn

Senators Joel C. Heitkamp (Chairman), Dick Dever, Tony Grindberg

Representatives Ron Carlisle, Kari L. Conrad, Lawrence R. Klemin

Citizen Members Leann K. Bertsch, Edward Brownshield, Bradley A. Cruff, Judge Gail Hagerty, Paul Hendrickson, Duane Johnston, Justice Mary Muehlen Maring, Deborah Ness, Carol K. Olson, Dr. Gary Rabe, Thomas L. Trenbeath