NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 12, 2005 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.

Call to order

9.00 a.m.	Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
9:05 a.m.	Comments by the chairman regarding the responsibilities of the committee
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of higher education funding and accountability as directed by Section 23 of Senate Bill No. 2003 and the responsibility to receive reports from the State Board of Higher Education on the status of the board's review of the long-term finance plan pursuant to Section 17 of Senate Bill No. 2003
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a draft request for proposals and a listing of potential consultants for the higher education funding and accountability study
9:45 a.m.	Comments by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding the committee's study of higher education funding and accountability and the State Board of Higher Education's review of the long-term finance plan as directed by Section 17 of Senate Bill No. 2003
10:15 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of higher education funding and accountability
10:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee's study of higher education funding and accountability, including approval of the request for proposals and potential consultant list
11:15 a.m.	OTHER COMMITTEE RESPONSIBILITIES Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on other committee responsibilities relating to receiving a report from the State Board of Higher Education regarding faculty written and verbal English proficiency
11:30 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's other responsibilities
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
12:00 noon	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Ray Holmberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Nicholas P. Hacker, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell

Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Larry Bellew, Tom Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Mary Ekstrom, Kathy Hawken, Nancy Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Mark S. Owens, Earl Rennerfeldt, Steven L. Zaiser