## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

# **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Tuesday and Wednesday, February 14-15, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol East Heritage Room, Doublewood Inn Bismarck, North Dakota

# Tuesday, February 14, 2006 - Roughrider Room, State Capitol (This portion of the meeting is for Higher Education Committee members only.)

1:00 p.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes from the November 9-10, 2005, meeting

### HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING AND ACCOUNTABILITY STUDY

- 1:05 p.m. Presentation by representatives of MGT of America, Inc., of the preliminary report for the higher education funding and accountability study
- 3:05 p.m. Comments by representatives of the State Board of Higher Education, institutions of higher education, and higher education students regarding the higher education funding and accountability study
- 3:30 p.m. Comments by representatives of the executive branch regarding the higher education funding and accountability study
- 3:45 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the higher education funding and accountability study
- 4:00 p.m. Committee discussion regarding the higher education funding and accountability study
- 4:45 p.m. Recess

#### Wednesday, February 15, 2006 - East Heritage Room, Doublewood Inn, I-94 and Exit 159

#### HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE

Representatives of business, industry, the State Board of Higher Education, the institutions of higher education, higher education students, the executive branch, and private and tribal higher education institutions will join the committee for a Higher Education Roundtable discussion.

- 8:30 a.m. Roll call
- 8:35 a.m. Comments by Senator Ray Holmberg, Chairman, Higher Education Committee, regarding the higher education funding and accountability study and the purpose and intended outcomes of the Higher Education Roundtable meeting
- 8:45 a.m. Introduction of roundtable members
- 9:00 a.m. Presentation by representatives of MGT of America, Inc., of an overview of the preliminary report on the higher education funding and accountability study
- 9:30 a.m. Comments by Higher Education Roundtable members regarding the consultant's preliminary report for the higher education funding and accountability study
- 10:30 a.m. Break (hosted by the Greater North Dakota Chamber of Commerce)
- 10:45 a.m. Presentations by representatives of Operation Intern and others regarding internship programs and potentials for expansion

- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess (hosted by Teachers' Insurance and Annuity Association College Retirement Equities Fund)
- 12:30 p.m. Presentation regarding the centers of excellence initiative
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the efforts underway to address the "softskills" areas of education and training
- 1:45 p.m. Consideration of the following points:
  - The roundtable at a crossroads
  - Are we driving together or diverging?
  - A view of the private sector members of the roundtable
- 3:00 p.m. Comments by representatives of the Higher Education Roundtable regarding recommendations for action
- 3:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Ray Holmberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Nicholas P. Hacker, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell

Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Larry Bellew, Tom Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Mary Ekstrom, Kathy Hawken, Nancy Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Mark S. Owens, Earl Rennerfeldt, Steven L. Zaiser

#### **Roundtable Members**

Hardin Aasand, Greg Allen, Sue Andrews, Linda Butts, Joseph A. Chapman, Bruce I. Christianson, Beverly Clayburgh, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Bill Goetz, Gary D. Hagen, Don Hedger, Dennis Hill, Terry Hoff, David Kemnitz, Frank Keogh, Dale Knutson, Pam Kostelecky, Cheryl Kulas, Richard Kunkel, Charles E. Kupchella, Wayne Kutzer, Lucas Larson, Gloria Lokken, Richard McKennett, Don Morton, Patricia Olson, Judith Paukert, John Q. Paulsen, John Pederson, Robert Potts (ex officio nonvoting), Ken J. Quamme, Roger Reierson, Jim Roers, Wayne Sanstead, Tom Shorma, Richie Smith, Daryl Splichal, Paul Steffes, Donna Thigpen, Lee Vickers, Sister Thomas Welder, Delore Zimmerman, Carry Zubke