NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ELECTRIC INDUSTRY COMPETITION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, August 23, 2005 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
9:05 a.m.	Comments by the committee chairman concerning the responsibilities of the committee
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of the impact of competition on the generation, transmission, and distribution of electric energy within this state
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Susan Wefald, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, on the wholesale electricity market, building state cooperation on electric transmission siting, and wind generation projects in this state
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Kim Christianson, Energy Program Manager, Department of Commerce, concerning wind energy development in this state
10:10 a.m.	Coffee break
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dennis Boyd, Senior Governmental Affairs Representative, Public Affairs Department, MDU Resources Group, Inc., concerning the committee's study of the impact of competition on the generation, transmission, and distribution of electric energy within this state
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Harlan Fuglesten, Communications and Government Relations Director, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, concerning the committee's study of the impact of competition on the generation, transmission, and distribution of electric energy within this state
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kathy Aas, Minot Community Relations Manager and North Dakota Governmental Affairs Representative, Xcel Energy, Inc., Minot, concerning the committee's study of the impact of competition on the generation, transmission, and distribution of electric energy within this state
11:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Loren Laugtug, Otter Tail Power Company, Fergus Falls, Minnesota, concerning the committee's study of the impact of competition on the generation, transmission, and distribution of electric energy within this state
11:20 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:40 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Adjourn
Committee Members	

Committee Members

Representatives Merle Boucher (Chairman), Wesley R. Belter, Tracy Boe, Michael D. Brandenburg, David Drovdal, George J. Keiser

Senators Robert S. Erbele, Tim Mathern, Duane Mutch, Larry J. Robinson, John O. Syverson, Ben Tollefson