NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ELECTRIC INDUSTRY COMPETITION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, June 27, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Scott Scofield and Mr. Jim Wavle, Scofield and Associates, LLC, on the financing of transmission projects
9:25 a.m.	Comments and questions by committee members
9:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:35 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Transmission Authority on recent activities of the authority
9:45 a.m.	Coffee break
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Susan Wefald, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, on recent events and activities relating to the electric industry and the commission
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to cost recovery for transmission facilities
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Loren Laugtug, Otter Tail Power Company, Fergus Falls, Minnesota, on the bill draft relating to cost recovery for transmission facilities
10:25 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:35 a.m.	Committee discussion
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff relating to cost recovery for environmental compliance, acts of terrorism, sabotage, and natural disasters
10:45 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:05 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Terry Traynor, North Dakota Association of Counties, of a report from the Public Safety Answering Points Coordinating Committee on city and county fees on telephone exchange access service and wireless service
11:45 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:50 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:55 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ed Weber, Western Area Power Association, on the transmission of wind energy
1:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
1:40 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. John DiDonato, Florida Power and Light, on wind energy development in this state
2:10 p.m.	Comments by interested persons

2:15 p.m.	Coffee break
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ronald E. Cizek, Wahpeton Site Manufacturing Director, Imation, on the need for competition in electric rates
3:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
3:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Harlan Fuglesten, Communications and Government Relations Director, North Dakota Association of Rural and Electric Cooperatives, concerning the taxation of the electric industry
3:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
4:00 p.m.	Committee discussion
4:20 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Merle Boucher (Chairman), Wesley R. Belter, Tracy Boe, Michael D. Brandenburg, David Drovdal, George J. Keiser
Senators Robert S. Erbele, Tim Mathern, Duane Mutch, Larry J. Robinson, John O. Syverson, Ben

Tollefson