NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Wednesday, October 26, 2005 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
	Comments by Representative Rick Berg, Chairman, regarding the activities of the committee during the interim
BUSINESS CLIMATE STUDY	
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the business climate study
9:20 a.m.	Comments by representatives of the Department of Commerce regarding the business climate study and the services the department will be able to provide
9:30 a.m.	Committee discussion regarding committee duties, Department of Commerce duties, consultant services, and procedure for the business climate initiative focus groups and Business Congress held as part of this study
10:00 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the business climate study
	Committee directives
10:30 a.m.	VENTURE AND RISK CAPITAL STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the venture and risk capital study
10:45 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the venture and risk capital study
	Committee discussion and directives
10:55 a.m.	Coffee break
REPORTS TO COMMITTEE	
11:10 a.m.	Status Reports on Programs and Studies Presentation by a representative of the Bank of North Dakota regarding the status of the Bank's investment in alternative and venture capital investments and early-stage capital funds program
	Comments by interested persons
	Committee discussion and directives
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Commerce on the status of the

- American Indian Business Development Office
- International Trade and Business Office
- Local economic developer certification
- Image information program

following new programs:

Business hotline program

Dakota Manufacturing Initiative

Presentation by representatives of the Department of Commerce summarizing activities of the department in preparing for the required reports to the committee regarding the department's studies of:

- The state's intellectual property laws as they relate to the protection of intellectual property rights
- The state's economic development incentives

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

12:15 p.m. Luncheon recess

1:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Eddie Dunn, North Dakota University System, and Mr. Mark Nisbet, Centers of Excellence Commission, on the status of the centers of

excellence program

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

1:45 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Robert L. Potts, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, summarizing activities of the agency in preparing for the required report to the committee regarding the agency's study of incentives the state could adopt to serve as catalysts for stimulating more efficient commercialization of new technologies

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

2:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Sherry Neas, Office of Management and Budget, regarding the status of the new program through which the department provides procurement

information through the Internet and summarizing activities of the agency in preparing for the required report to the committee regarding the agency's

procurement assistance center study

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

Renaissance Zone Annual Report

2:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Richard Gray, Department of Commerce Division of Community

Services, of the annual report on renaissance zone progress

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

2:30 p.m. Comments by the committee chairman

Committee discussion

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Rick Berg, Dawn Marie Charging, Donald L. Clark, Donald D. Dietrich, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Jim Kasper, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Eugene Nicholas, Kenton Onstad, Dan J. Ruby, Elwood Thorpe, Clark Williams

Senators April Fairfield, Nicholas P. Hacker, Duane Mutch, Randy A. Schobinger, John O. Syverson, Ryan M. Taylor, John M. Warner