NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Wednesday, August 30, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the July 19, 2006, meeting Comments by Representative Rick Berg, Chairman
9:05 a.m.	ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT INCENTIVES STUDY REPORT Presentation by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, and Mr. Rod Backman, Covenant Consulting, on the outcome of the Department of Commerce study of the state's economic development incentives
	BUSINESS CLIMATE STUDY Distribution of inventory of the business climate study key issues and proposed action items to be used as a reference as each key issue is addressed by the committee
10:05 a.m.	Workforce and Attracting and Retaining Young People and Young Families Testimony by Mr. Cory Fong, Tax Commissioner, regarding the use of tax incentives to incentivise out-of-state recruitment for hard-to-fill positions and the use of tax incentives to incentivise the use of higher education internships
10:15 a.m.	Testimony by Mr. Larry Anderson, Job Service North Dakota, regarding the pilot reemployment project for the chronically unemployed
10:30 a.m.	Testimony by Mr. Jim Hirsch, Department of Commerce, regarding the state's talent strategy and the key issues of workforce and attracting and retaining young people and young families
11:00 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion and directives regarding the key issues of workforce and attracting and retaining young people and young families
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Image Comments by interested persons and committee discussion and directives regarding the key issue of image
1:30 p.m.	Trade and Other Comments by interested persons and committee discussion and directives regarding the key issue of trade and other key issues
2:00 p.m.	Transportation Comments by interested persons and committee discussion and directives regarding the key issue of transportation
2:30 p.m.	Coffee break
2:45 p.m.	Higher Education Comments by interested persons and committee discussion and directives regarding the key issue of higher education

REPORTS

3:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Mark Nisbet, Centers of Excellence Commission, on the status of the centers of excellence program
 3:45 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
 4:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Rick Berg (Chairman), Dawn Marie Charging, Donald L. Clark, Donald D. Dietrich, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Jim Kasper, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Eugene Nicholas, Kenton Onstad, Dan J. Ruby, Elwood Thorpe, Clark Williams

Senators April Fairfield, Nicholas P. Hacker, Duane Mutch, Randy A. Schobinger, John O. Syverson, Ryan M. Taylor, John M. Warner