NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 19, 2006 Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.

Call to order

	0.00 a	Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 21, 2006, meeting Comments by Representative Rick Berg, Chairman
BUSINESS CLIMATE STUDY Workforce		
	9:05 a.m.	Testimony from Ms. Korrine Lang, Job Service North Dakota, regarding unemployed members of the workforce
	9:25 a.m.	Testimony from Mr. James Burgum, Governor's office, regarding the state's internship program for higher education
	9:40 a.m.	Higher Education Testimony from a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding the CC Benefits program as a method of addressing a demand-driven education that is responsive to job market needs
	10:00 a.m.	Attracting and Retaining Young People and Young Families Testimony from a representative of the Bank of North Dakota regarding possible legislative actions that could be taken to address the key issue of attracting and retaining young people and young families
	10:10 a.m.	Transportation Testimony by the Legislative Council staff regarding the activities of the interim Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee; Electric Industry Competition Committee; interim Industry, Business, and Labor Committee; and interim Transportation Committee
	10:15 a.m.	Testimony from Mr. Rod Backman, Covenant Consulting, responding to issues raised by Part 135 charter service operators
	10:25 a.m.	Coffee break
	10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Denver Tolliver, Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute, of the report <i>Impacts of Transportation Infrastructure on the Economy of North Dakota</i>
REPORTS		
	11:20 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the president of the Bank of North Dakota on the status of the Bank's investment in alternative and venture capital investments and early-stage capital funds
	11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sherry Neas, representative of the director of the Office of Management and Budget, on the status of providing procurement information through the Internet and on the outcome of the director's procurement assistance center study
	11:50 a.m.	Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m.

Presentation by Mr. Shane C. Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, and a representative of the chancellor of the North Dakota University System of the outcome of the Department of Commerce study of the state's intellectual property laws as they relate to the protection of intellectual property rights and on the outcome of the State Board of Higher Education study of incentives the state could adopt to serve as catalysts for stimulating more efficient commercialization of new technologies

2:00 p.m.

Presentation of the following reports by Mr. Goettle:

- Process used and factors considered by the commissioner in identifying target industries on which economic development efforts are focused and the special focus target industry
- Biennial report from the Commissioner of Commerce on the process used and factors considered by the commissioner in identifying target industries on which economic development efforts are focused and the special focus target industry
- Status of the American Indian Business Development Office and the status of the International Trade and Business Office
- Status of the certification program through which the Division of Economic Development and Finance provides training services to local economic developers
- Status of the image information program
- Status of the business hotline program
- Status of the Dakota Manufacturing Initiative

4:15 p.m. Comments by the committee chairman

Committee discussion and directives

4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Rick Berg (Chairman), Dawn Marie Charging, Donald L. Clark, Donald D. Dietrich, Mark A. Dosch, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Jim Kasper, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Eugene Nicholas, Kenton Onstad, Dan J. Ruby, Elwood Thorpe, Clark Williams

Senators April Fairfield, Nicholas P. Hacker, Duane Mutch, Randy A. Schobinger, John O. Syverson, Ryan M. Taylor, John M. Warner