## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

## **EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, August 30, 2005 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
- 10:05 a.m. Comments by the committee chairman
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the committee's statutory duties, the state employee compensation study directed by Section 28 of 2005 House Bill No. 1015, and other committee responsibilities
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Sparb Collins, Executive Director, Public Employees Retirement System, of an overview of the Public Employees Retirement System, including:
  - Structure of the Public Employees Retirement System Board
  - Structure of the Public Employees Retirement System office
  - Retirement programs, including Public Employees Retirement System main system, Highway Patrolmen's retirement system, judges' retirement system, National Guard retirement system, prior service retiree system, higher education system, defined contribution retirement plan, and the Old-Age and Survivor Insurance System
  - Retiree health insurance program, including the effect on the program of Medicare Part D prescription drug coverage
  - Health insurance program
  - Life insurance program
  - Employee assistance program
  - Deferred compensation program
  - Dental, vision, and long-term care insurance programs
  - Flexcomp program
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Steve Cochrane, Executive Director/Investment Director, Retirement and Investment Office, of an overview of the state's investment program
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Fay Kopp, Deputy Executive Director, Retirement and Investment Office, of an overview of the Teachers' Fund for Retirement
- 2:00 p.m. Comments by Ms. Laurie Sterioti Hammeren, Director, Human Resource Management Services, Office of Management and Budget, regarding the state employee compensation study
- 2:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's statutory duties, state employee compensation study, and other committee responsibilities

Committee discussion and staff directives 3:00 p.m.

Adjourn 3:30 p.m.

**Committee Members** Representatives Matthew M. Klein (Chairman), Al Carlson, Joe Kroeber, Ken Svedjan, Francis J. Wald Senators Ray Holmberg, Ralph L. Kilzer, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn Nelson