NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

BUDGET SECTION

Thursday, June 23, 2005 Senate Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 8:30 a.m. Call to order Roll call
- 8:35 a.m. Review by the Legislative Council staff of the Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
- 8:40 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget regarding:
 - Status of the general fund
 - Status of tobacco settlement proceeds
 - Irregularities in the fiscal practices of the state, pursuant to North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) Section 54-14-03.1
- 9:00 a.m. Consideration of the following state agency requests that have been authorized by the Emergency Commission and require consideration by the Budget Section:
 - **Department of Transportation (Request #1542)** To increase federal funds spending authority by \$860,000 of funds available from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for grants relating to seatbelt usage, blood alcohol .08 incentives, and impaired driving
 - Department of Public Instruction (Request #1543) To increase special funds spending authority by \$25 million to accept federal funds from the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 for grants to school districts prior to the end of the 2003-05 biennium
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff on the duties and responsibilities of the Budget Section for the 2005-07 biennium
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff on the following reports:
 - Analysis of legislative changes to the executive budget 2005-07 biennium (including supplemental and statistical information regarding state appropriations)
 - Budget status report on appropriations and estimated revenues 2005-07 biennium
- 10:00 a.m. Report by the commissioner of University and School Lands regarding state agencies that have not submitted a claim for unclaimed property belonging to that agency and regarding the agency relinquishing its rights to recover its property, subject to Budget Section approval, pursuant to NDCC Section 47-30.1-24.1
- 10:20 a.m. Distribution by the Legislative Council staff of correspondence from ethanol plants receiving production incentives from the state, pursuant to NDCC Section 4-14.1-07
- 10:25 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 10:30 a.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

- Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Larry Bellew, Rick Berg, Merle Boucher, Thomas Brusegaard, Ron Carlisle, Al Carlson, Jeff Delzer, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Scot Kelsh, Keith Kempenich, James Kerzman, Matthew M. Klein, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Ralph Metcalf, David Monson, Chet Pollert, Earl Rennerfeldt, Bob Skarphol, Ken Svedjan, Blair Thoreson, Mike Timm, Francis J. Wald, Alon Wieland, Clark Williams
- Senators John M. Andrist, Bill L. Bowman, Randel Christmann, Michael A. Every, Tom Fischer, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ralph L. Kilzer, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Tim Mathern, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Randy A. Schobinger, Bob Stenehjem, Harvey Tallackson, Russell T. Thane