NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Thursday, November 17, 2005

Rooms 148-154, Research Park I, NDSU Tech Park, 1735 Research Park Drive Fargo, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the September 15, 2005, meeting

GRAIN QUALITY ISSUES AND AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH ACTIVITIES

- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Dr. Ken Grafton, Dean, College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources, and Director, North Dakota Agricultural Experiment Station; Vice President D. C. Coston; and Mr. Duane Hauck, Director of Extension, North Dakota State University, concerning grain quality issues and agricultural research activities
- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Marcia McMullen, Professor of Plant Pathology, North Dakota State University, of an overview of scab disease affecting small grains in North Dakota, with an emphasis on the most recent years' problems, and various scab control methods
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by Dr. William Ngange, Associate Professor of Agricultural Economics, North Dakota State University, of an overview of the economic impact of scab in 2005
- 9:50 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Richard D. Horsley, Professor of Plant Sciences, North Dakota State University, of a review of the breeding programs and accomplishments toward scab resistance
- 10:15 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:30 a.m. The committee will tour the following North Dakota State University agricultural research facilities:
 - Waldron Greenhouse Dr. Robert Stack, Professor of Plant Pathology, North Dakota State University - Brief description of screening of wheat for scab resistance
 - Loftsgard Hall Tour of molecular biology laboratories Dr. Shahryar Kianian, Associate Professor of Plant Sciences, North Dakota State University -Presentation of information concerning work on scab using molecular techniques
 - Scab greenhouse Dr. McMullen
 - Horticultural and plant pathology greenhouses and agronomy greenhouses -Dr. Jack B. Rasmussen, Dr. Albert Schneiter, Dr. Mohamed Mergoum, and Dr. Elias Elias - Discussion of difficulties identifying resistance and transferring resistance traits into adapted, high-yielding, high-quality plant lines

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

RAILROAD FUEL SURCHARGES STUDY

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Tony Clark, President, Public Service Commission, of an update on the rail rate case, information on the regulation of the secondary railcar market, information relating to federal preemption of state regulation of the railway industry, and information relating to the feasibility of state legislation compelling a railroad to open its rail network to competing railroads
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons in attendance concerning the railroad fuel surcharges study
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives
- 2:15 p.m. Adjourn

Representatives Chet Pollert (Chairman), LeRoy G. Bernstein, Michael D. Brandenburg, Tom Brusegaard, Chuck Damschen, Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Craig Headland, Scot Kelsh, Keith Kempenich, Joyce Kingsbury, Matthew M. Klein, Jon O. Nelson, Eugene Nicholas, Mike Norland, Dorvan Solberg, Gerald Uglem

Senators Bill L. Bowman, Joel C. Heitkamp, Stanley W. Lyson, David O'Connell, Herb Urlacher