NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 15, 2005 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
9:05 a.m.	Comments by committee chairman regarding the studies assigned to the committee
9:10 a.m.	ENERGY-INTENSIVE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of utilization of the state's abundant energy resources to attract energy-intensive economic development projects to the state
9:20 a.m.	Comments by Representative Chuck Damschen, District 10, concerning the study
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Commerce concerning the study
10:00 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Orlin Hanson, Sherwood Economic Development Corporation, Sherwood, concerning the study
10:15 a.m.	Coffee break
10:30 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance concerning the study
10:45 a.m.	RAILROAD FUEL SURCHARGES STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of railroad fuel surcharges
10:55 a.m.	Comments by Representative Michael D. Brandenburg, District 28, concerning the study
11:05 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Steven D. Strege, Executive Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer, North Dakota Grain Dealers Association, Fargo, concerning the study
11:25 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Brian J. Sweeney, Burlington Northern Santa Fe Railway, St. Paul, Minnesota, concerning the study
11:40 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance concerning the study
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
RESERVED WATER RIGHTS STUDY	
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of the process to negotiate and quantify reserved water rights
1:15 p.m.	Comments by Mr. Bob Shaver, Director, Water Appropriations Division, State Water Commission, concerning the study
1:30 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance concerning the study

AGRICULTURAL EXPERIMENT STATION

1:45 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Ken Grafton, Director, Agricultural Experiment Station, regarding grain quality issues and an overview of agricultural research activities

2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

2:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Chet Pollert (Chairman), LeRoy G. Bernstein, Michael D. Brandenburg, Tom Brusegaard, Chuck Damschen, Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Craig Headland, Scot Kelsh, Keith Kempenich, Joyce Kingsbury, Matthew M. Klein, Jon O. Nelson, Eugene Nicholas, Mike Norland, Dorvan Solberg, Gerald Uglem

Senators Bill L. Bowman, Joel C. Heitkamp, Stanley W. Lyson, David O'Connell, Herb Urlacher