NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Thursday, August 3, 2006 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 6, 2006, meeting
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
9:05 a.m.	RAIL RATE CASE Presentation by Commissioner Tony Clark, President, Public Service Commission, of information concerning the rail rate case
ENERGY-INTENSIVE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STUDY	
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Bob Humann, Senior Vice President of Lending, Bank of North Dakota, concerning the Ag PACE and ENVEST North Dakota programs
10:00 a.m.	Coffee break
10:15 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Scott Handy, President and Chief Executive Officer, Cass County Electric Cooperative, Fargo, concerning efforts to amend the city of Fargo and the city of Grand Forks home rule charters to provide that 20 percent of each city's electricity comes from renewable sources by 2020 and 30 percent of each city's electricity comes from renewable sources by 2030
10:30 a.m.	Comments by representatives of the state's investor-owned electric utilities concerning efforts to amend home rule charters to include a renewable energy standard
10:45 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance concerning efforts to amend home rule charters to include a renewable energy standard
RESERVED WATER RIGHTS STUDY	
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to establish a reserved water rights compact commission to negotiate reserved water rights of the United States and federally recognized Indian tribes and a bill draft authorizing the Governor to appoint a commission to negotiate a reserved water rights settlement with the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians of North Dakota
11:10 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Jon Patch, Assistant Division Director, Water Appropriation Division, State Water Commission, concerning the bill drafts
11:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons in attendance concerning the bill drafts and the process to negotiate and quantify reserved water rights
11:55 a.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	The committee will meet at the north door of the State Capitol to travel by bus to Great River Energy's Coal Creek Station to tour the station and receive information concerning the station and the Blue Flint ethanol project

Committee Members

Representatives Chet Pollert (Chairman), LeRoy G. Bernstein, Michael D. Brandenburg, Tom Brusegaard, Chuck Damschen, Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Craig Headland, Scot Kelsh, Keith Kempenich, Joyce Kingsbury, Matthew M. Klein, Jon O. Nelson, Eugene Nicholas, Mike Norland, Dorvan Solberg, Gerald Uglem

Senators Bill L. Bowman, Joel C. Heitkamp, Stanley W. Lyson, David O'Connell, Herb Urlacher